Chicken or the Egg?

Statement A: I don’t go to malls in order to keep my spending in check.
Statement B: I spend like crazy in malls because I rarely go to them.

It is a vicious cycle. So I mentioned in my previous post that I went with the BFF to support her during her aquathlon. Since that was early morning, we had the rest of the day free. We decided to watch a movie (Captain America: Civil War) and go shopping (since she needed to buy a bag to use for her upcoming trip to Japan).

Needless to say, she bought just what she needed. No more, no less. I, on the other hand, wound up buying a JanSport tote bag (because it had a suede bottom and it was PURPLE), a backpack from Herschel (which is also where the BFF bought her backpack), and headphones (coz I needed to replace the one I use at the office for conference calls).

To be fair, the headphones were a necessity since my old ones were already deteriorating. And the backpack addresses my need for a bag that can serve as a “mom bag”.

What is a “mom bag”? Essentially, it’s any bag that you can carry all the necessities in. For me, besides money and my phone, necessities consist of:

  1. Water (c/o my Klean Kanteen)
  2. Moist towelettes
  3. Tissue
  4. Alcohol (in a small spritz bottle)
  5. Foldable umbrella
  6. Fan
  7. Med kit (paracetamol, antihistamine, plasters, etc)
  8. Girly kit (mirror, balm, creme, comb, floss, gum, mint, etc)
  9. Canvas tote bag (to put my purchases or other things in)

As you can tell, a tote bag is not ideal in bringing all these things coz it is hell to find things if they’re all in one compartment. Plus, it’s really bad for the spine to have that much weight on just one shoulder. Hence, the backpack.

So why did I buy the tote? BECAUSE IT WAS PURPLE AND PRETTY AND I COULD.

I have no control. >_<

Leave a Reply

